Influenced by –> Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Book Review  { 2 } 
15801353

Benjamin Alire Saenz
{Published} Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on February 21st 2012
{Series} Stand Alone
{Genres}  GLBT, Young Adult, Realistic Fiction, Coming of Age, Contemporary 
{Source}  Library
 

My Simple Thoughts:

I was honestly clueless as to what I was getting into when I checked out this book from the local library.  With so many awards on the front of such a beautiful cover, one would think the book should be read.  Besides it would not hurt to discover some of the secrets of the universe.

“My mother and father held hands. I wondered what that was like, to hold someone’s hand.  I bet you could sometimes find all of the mysteries of the universe in someone’s hand.”  – page 140

Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe is told through the eyes of a young angry loner, Aristotle (Ari). Ari and Dante, meet when they are 15 during one of those boring summers where you wait for something amazing to happen.  It was a friendship they both seemed to bumble and stumble through with little grace that made you smile and grow with the characters.  It was a friendship full of questioning the universe, laughing, sexual struggles & cultural identity.  What does it mean to be Mexican-American?

I do not normally cry when I read a book but I did.  The romance that you did not see, the romance Ari did not want to see, made me cry.  A few tears but they were the perfect roll down the cheek kind. The jealous and strong emotion to protect Dante at any price had my heart.  Truly one of the best GLBT book I have read.

This book is written in such a way that heavy handed issues about self identity and coming to age were tackled with great writing skill that made the book just beautiful.  The writing, the characters, the story it was all beautiful. The awards on the cover are most defiantly there for a good reason.  Congratulations Benjamin Alire Saenz!

“You could smell the rain in the desert even before a drop fell.  I closed my eyes.  I held my head out and felt the first drops.  It was like a kiss. The sky was kissing me.”  – page 293

 I loved how such important issues were brought together in a flawlessly wonderful story.

I Loved This Book!!

I urge you to Read it soon!!

I would recommend The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian for self identity issues on a Native American Reservation.

*******

NOH8 Campaign

8461405

My Next GLBT Read is already picked out!!!

Pink – Add it to your GoodReads List Now.

 Click for a list of Gay in YA from EpicReads.

3 thoughts on “Influenced by –> Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

  1. Pingback: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz | Therine is dying to read...

Leave a Reply

