Influenced by —> Just One Year

Book Review  { 6 } 

12842134

Just One Year by Gayle Forman
{Published} Dutton Juvenile on Oct 10th 2013
{Series} Just One Day #2
{Pages} 336 Hardcover
{Genres} Travel Fiction,Young Adult, Realistic Fiction, Coming of Age, Contemporary Fiction
{Source}  Community Library
 

My Simple Thoughts:

The book breezes brought me word of Just One Day which was an endearing book but not my favorite. However, I about did a jump for joy when I found out book two was going to be from Willem’s point of view. Male POV books are rare and this book did not disappoint.

male POV The novel picks up were Willem wakes in the hospital (not the end of Just One Day) and does not remember what had occurred or where he was. He only had this overcoming wave that someone was waiting for him. He might already be too late. Willem becomes stuck in this deep emotional hole even as he tries to be his normal self. Not believing that it was only one day with “LuLu”, she had stained him. He admits to his buddies about “LuLu” & they decide to break out in search of her using the small tidbits of what he did remember since he did not even know her real name. They felt that Willem needed to see her again so he could get her out of his head. Over the year, Willem goes through a journey not only of self discovery but of the world.

“There’s a difference between losing something you knew you had and losing something you discovered you had. One is disappointment. The other feels like losing a piece of yourself.”

He visits various places including Mexico & India. Oh, how I envy this fictional Dutch man! He is a well traveled man and we get that part of him in his character. He is not a typical adult fiction male most would swoon over but I… yup, I’m pretty sure I drooled all of this book. We learn about Willem as a person and more about his odd little family. I love how it mentions that he gets by on some languages. That is me in Thai in Mandarin. Not fluent but I can get my point across and travel with more ease then others. Plus it is a big bonus that I know the Chinese character for coffee. *wink wink*

As a young adult romance novel I was happy to see something different within the two novels. Allyson was discovering herself as a person in Just One Day and Willem in turn evaluates his life and accident’s motto. With this you see the other side of the romance. It is about being lost & found, finding courage, self doubt, depression, need, old baggage as we call the past,  & discovering oneself. It is about what we call the accidents in life. Making an effort by knocking down those doors of opportunity.

“Saba used to say there was a difference between bravery and courage. Bravery was doing something dangerous without thinking. Courage was walking into danger, knowing full well the risks.”

I see how some people might of had to take some time to digest this sort of novel. Meanwhile, I felt like I was on one of my whirl wind adventures. Finding myself, heading off where the breezes blow me, and thinking about life in general.

Just One Year was amazing. I loved it just that much more then book one. It was inspiring, full of adventure, and Willem never gave up on finding his LuLu. This is one adventure I wish I was really apart of. Characters were well developed and felt real, even down to the Mexican security guard.

One small negative issue. The ending was very abrupt. I wanted more. A few more pages of interaction an epilogue. Something. Is there going to be a book three? I really hope so! If not, you might be disappointed with the ending. Curious readers want to know… What is to become of Willem and his LuLu?

A new favorite Travel Fiction. Read it!

** Thanks to the Oneida Community Library. However, my thoughts have not been swayed or swaggered except through my own distorted brain.**

Leave a Reply

